Skip to main content
HomeAbout Us

About Us


League of Women Voters of Kitsap


The League of Women Voters operates at the local, state, and national level, with over 1,000 local leagues. The League of Women Voters of Kitsap has been active since 1962. We are members of the League of Women Voters of Washington and the League of Women Voters of the US.

The League is a grassroots, nonpartisan political organization which does not support or oppose any candidate or political party.

We invite people of all genders who are 16 years or older to join us.

Join Us


What We Do

The LWV of Kitsap is busy! In addition to registering voters, we work hard to educate the public with candidate forums and community education programs discussing topics that affect Kitsap County.

Many members participate in advocacy committees to tackle complex problems that our community and country faces.

Our Brochure

Read more about our organization in the downloadable brochure, You Can Make a Difference:

You Can Make a Difference Brochure


The League of Women Voters of Kitsap is divided into four geographical units for ease of monthly meetings:  Bremerton/Central Kitsap Unit, North Kitsap Unit, South Kitsap Unit, and Bainbridge Island Unit.

Bremerton/Central Kitsap Unit

Central Kitsap Map

Areas represented: Bremerton, Silverdale, Seabeck

North Kitsap Unit

North Kitsap Map

Areas Represented: Poulsbo, Kingston, Hansville, Suquamish

South Kitsap Unit

South Kitsap Map

Areas Represented: Port Orchard, Manchester, Olalla, Southworth

Bainbridge Island Unit

Bainbridge Island Map

Areas represented: Bainbridge Island


President: Robin Muir (Bremerton/CK)
1st Vice President: Catherine Freudenberg (Bainbridge)
2nd Vice President: Barb Willock (South Kitsap)
Secretary: Debi Barner (Bremerton/CK)
Treasurer: Sonia Scaer (Bainbridge)
Director Position 1: Raejean Bridges-Avalos (Bremerton/CK)
Director Position 2: Riley Abel (Bremerton/CK)
Director Position 3: Victoria Hilt (Bremerton/CK)
Director Position 4: Mara Schmerfeld (South Kitsap)
Director Position 5: Pat Troxell (Bremerton/CK)
Director Position 6: Amy Groestch (North Kitsap)

2023-2024 Nominating Committee
Maureen Cervinsky, Chair
Kathleen Cahall
Carol Larsen
Catherine Freudenberg
Barb Willock


South Kitsap (SK) – Janet Stegemeyer
Bremerton/Central Kitsap (Bremerton/CK) – Maureen Cervinsky
North Kitsap (NK) – Carol Larsen
Bainbridge Island (BI) –Maurie Louis


Early Childhood Education (0 -3)
– Rosalind Renouard

Forums - Kim Abel
Legislative Issue Liaison – Martha Burke
MELD - Raejean Avalos
Membership Roster Manager – Carol Larsen
Nominating – Maureen Cervinsky
Protect Our Democracy – Leni Skarin, Maurie Louis
Publicity Coordinator – Open
Voter Services – Linda Eakin-Johnson
Website Administrator– Alicia Vause

Voter registration drive

Crowd at one of our events

A newly registered voter

Our dogs are interested in voting, too

Registering voters on the ferry
Voter registration on the WA State Ferries

Learn more about the LWV of Kitsap

This document gives a more in-depth look at the League of Women Voters of Kitsap.


LWV Kitsap

P.O. Box 1524

Poulsbo, WA USA 98370